Gorgeous Glads

“Gorgeous Glads”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The gladiolus that I have had in the garden for a few years are all doing well this year. One of the first gladiolus that I planted was supposed to be Harmony, a pink variety, but they turned out to be a light lavender. I was still happy with the color, but the flowers didn’t bloom right. After a little investigation, I figured out the flowers were probably damaged by thrips. The next year, I planted Friendship gladiolus and they were fine, but last year these flowers too were damaged just like the lavender. This year, I sprayed the plants with sevin and that certainly solved the problem. I really do not like to use any kind of poison in my garden, but only one light spray when the flower buds first appeared was all that was needed to get rid of the problem. Finally, there were beautiful blooms.

 

 

 

 

Now both of these lovely gladiolus are looking their best.

Another glad that has never had any problems with thrips is a yellow one that is in another area of the garden. This is a smaller flowered one that blooms after the pink and lavender ones.

 

 

Even with the high heat we have been having around here, all the gladiolus are finally gorgeous.

2 Comments

  1. Bernieh said,

    June 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    They are indeed gorgeous. It’s lovely to see them doing so well after you solved the thrip problem. Such great soft psatel colours.

  2. Phillip said,

    June 28, 2011 at 9:04 am

    They bring back lots of childhood memories for me. I wish I had more sun for them in my garden.


Leave a Reply

