Night Bloomer

“Night Bloomer”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It is a good thing the night blooming cereus doesn’t require a lot of water. As I have mentioned before, we are in the midst of a serious drought. Today, we missed two showers. When the sky darkens, the temperatures drop, and the wind picks up, it is so discouraging not to get any rain. I keep saying to myself that we will get rain eventually.

But, back to the cereus. This lovely plant has started blooming, and I have been up early enough in the morning to see a flower.

 

 

Here in south Louisiana, my plant stays outside year round. It is in a container and in the winter I just put it in a protected area and cover it only if a freeze is predicted. So far all of mine have come through the winter okay.

This is such an easy plant to take care of – a little sun and a little water is all that is needed. It is also easy to propagate – just stick a piece into the ground and you have a plant. I love that it blooms only at night. During the summer it is nice to stay up late, go outside and see this large white flower. Kind of makes up for not getting any rain.

1 Comment

  1. July 1, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Hello Jan –
    I read, with interest, your post about the ‘Night Bloomer’ (Celeus). I have never heard of a flower that blooms at night. I’m guessing the plant must attract moths at night (trying to figure out nature’s purpose for the night bloom).

    I live in northern New York State and am recently retired. I’ve always had a small vegetable garden but never had a flower garden, per se -although we have many perennials scattered around the front and back yards in borders, etc.

    While looking at your excellent photos, it occurred to me I might undertake creating a flower garden on a larger scale. We have the room.

    I am reminded of my father’s uncle who passed many years ago. He had a great flower garden which encompassed much of the entire backyard.

    I’m imagining that’s what you have. Anyway, thanks for the inspiration -in no small part, by your great photos of flowers.

    I wonder where I can find a Night Bloomer. (I’ll look it up). It would be an interesting thing to have. Especially if it attracts moths.

    Dave Christensen


Leave a Reply

