Nothing Going On

“Nothing Going On”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I haven’t been posting lately because nothing has been happening in my garden. It has been hot, hot, hot and dry, dry, dry. Which means that nothing is blooming and very little is growing. We had about ten days of rain starting on July 15, but that has stopped. I have gone back to watering the garden every day and the container plants sometimes twice a day.

The few summer annuals I planted for a little seasonal color look pathetic. The ones that have survived are small and look stunted. Only the caladiums and coleus I have in pots still look okay. I am going to cut back a few of the annuals and then hope that when the cooler weather arrives, they will do better and look okay through October. The ones I don’t think will improve with cooler temps will be pulled out. I think this is the worst my garden has ever looked during the summer. It has been very discouraging.

In the garden, the perennials are surviving, but they really have not grown at all. I have lost a few plants. I was disappointed to lose the Little Lime hydrangea I bought this spring. It was doing fine until we got all that rain at the end of July and the humidity soared. I don’t think the pee gee hydrangeas can take our heat and high humidity. At least, that is my hypothesis since it was doing so well until then.

There have been a few bright spots showing up in the last week or so. One of the clematis I received as a Valentine present has bloomed, and another has a bud.

Nelly Moser has finally bloomed.

 

 

While these were bare root when I planted them in February, I never thought I would have to wait until August to see a flower. I guess that is what can happen when there is so little rain for six months.

Hopefully, when this unusual, extreme heat and dry weather is replaced by cooler fall weather, my garden will pop back, and there will be more to share with you.

3 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    August 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Same conditions in my garden, plants are waiting for the summer to be over. I’ll be glad when temps are in the 60s-70s.

    • Jan said,

      August 29, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Mary, I can hardly wait for cooler weather. This summer has been brutal.

  2. Susan said,

    August 29, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    I know how discouraged you feel because my garden is the same way. I really feel for the people in Texas and Oklahoma where the weather has been hotter.


Leave a Reply

