Falling Off the Face of the Earth

“Falling Off the Face of the Earth”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I guess it seems like I have fallen off the face of the earth since I haven’t posted in so long. Let’s just say that life and work (don’t even talk to me about computer conversions) has gotten in the way of my blogging. Not that anything has really been happening in the garden, so you haven’t missed anything.

The brutally high temperatures are finally gone, and the extreme drought, thanks to Tropical Storm Lee is over. The summer plants are all just about toast now, but those that do well in autumn are starting to make a show. I can’t wait for even cooler weather so that I can work out in the garden every weekend.

There have been several signs that even with temperatures in the high 80’s, fall is beginning to settle in. Many plants that only shine in the fall are starting to change. The beauty berry bushes are now sporting their gorgeous magenta berries.

 

 

Sedum Autumn Joy is also showing its lovely, rosy, fall color. This is the second year this has been in my garden, and I am so pleased with it. I know many gardeners think of this as just a common plant, but it really has not been grown much down here, and I love it.

 

 

A week or so after Tropical Storm Lee passed through, the hurricane lilies (Lycoris radiata) began to show up. These are often called hurricane lilies around here because their bloom time coincides with the peak of hurricane season. I remember after Katrina these were blooming only a week later.

 

 

The Mexican Sage is just starting to bloom. It won’t be as thick and nice as previous years because I forgot to cut in back in early summer.

 

 

Finally, a new addition to the garden is starting to earn its keep. This spring I bought an ornamental grass that I first saw about three years ago but was not able to find it locally until this April. This miscanthus Cosmopolitan is a large grass that puts out the loveliest wheat-colored tassels. I was beginning to worry mine wouldn’t have any this year, but look what has finally showed up.

 

 

In a week or so when the tassels all come out fully, this grass should look fantastic. I can hardly wait to see it in full bloom. At least there is one bright spot after such a drought-filled summer.

It shouldn’t be too long before the other autumn flowers show up. It will be nice to have the confederate rose and others around in the cool weather. Then, maybe I will have something to share and there won’t be such a long time between posts.

5 Comments

  1. September 26, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Beautiful fall blooms! I love Sedum too. It does extremely well in my garden and I want more! Our temps have cooled to the 80s too and it is great to get back in the garden after this hot summer.

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      I read where it is very easy to propagate Autumn Joy, so I’ll try next year to do that since I, too, want more in my garden.

  2. September 26, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I love Beautyberries. The Mockingbirds seem to like it as well…lots of activity! Hoping my hurricane lilies pop up soon….maybe it is too late.
    Glad to see you back. It has been a long hot summer.

    • Jan said,

      September 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Our birds love the beautyberries, too. Not as many of my hurricane lilies bloomed as in the past, and I am sure it is because of the drought. I am looking forward to getting back into the garden and letting everyone know what is going on down here.

  3. Carolyn♥ said,

    September 27, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Those Beauty Berries sure live up to their name, don’t they? Missed you! Hope all is well.


Leave a Reply

