Back for the New Year

“Back for the New Year”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Happy New Year to everyone.

It seems that I have been AWOL from my blogging for a while. There were many reasons for this: family issues, exhaustion, but mostly nothing was going on in my garden. All I have been doing is watering, watering, watering. I have never experienced such dry weather. We are still in a moderate drought here, but with a little winter cold and a little rain in the last two weeks, it has been better.

I finally feel like getting back to working in the garden, so I will at last have something to blog about now.  Here’s hoping that 2012 will be a great gardening year.

7 Comments

  1. Linda said,

    January 1, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    It’s good to see you back. I hope that 2012 will be a better year for the garden.

    • Jan said,

      January 2, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      Oh, Linda, I am sure it will be a better year. Hope you have a good year, too.

  2. Patty said,

    January 1, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Glad to see you are back, I have been looking forward to your posts.

  3. January 2, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Happy New Year and welcome back. I was just reading an October post about the lettuce. Here in east central new York State, we are able to sow lettuce and radishes early (for us) maybe around the end of April. Also, we can squeeze in a late crop after Labor Day.

    Generally, we can’t ‘rule out’ the frost danger before Memorial Day -so, late April, Early May is really getting a jump on things.

    I knew lettuce was hardy but i didn’t know how hardy it is until this year.

    I planted some rows of leaf lettuce about a week apart throughout August. The last row, in late August I kind of ignored / forgot about. The tomatoes and other things were pretty much at the end of the line and I wasn’t going near the garden much anymore.

    Long story short(er) throughout the fall we had some hard frosts and even 3 inches of snow -which didn’t stay long before melting. I went out there at the end of November and noticed the lettuce was still there, very much alive, having survived the snow and freezing temps. I cut it all and we enjoyed it in salads for about a week.

    I feel like putting some out in mid-April. Unfortunately, although it can survive, it doesn’t grow much. maybe a little on days when the temps rise above 50. We sometimes still have snow on the ground through March.

    I’ll have to be patient.

    • Jan said,

      January 2, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      Dave, your experience with lettuce surviving snow and cold doesn’t surprise me. Years ago my sister grew lettuce and would send her kids out to knock the ice of the leaves in early winter and harvest it. That is when I learned how hardy it can be. We can’t grow lettuce here after about late April – too hot, but I am still sowing seeds, and while like your April lettuce it is growing slowly, it is growing.

  4. January 2, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    Dear Jan, Welcome back! We missed you. Happy New Year. P. x

    • Jan said,

      January 2, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      Thanks, Pam. After this short break and with a new year starting, it does make me want to share what is going on in my garden.


Leave a Reply

