Being Careful

There you are just going along your merry way, when bam you are brought up short. Hopefully it turns out okay. Sometimes we don’t deserve the good luck we have.

It all started late Saturday afternoon. I decided to go out and work in the garden. Since it was late, I knew there wasn’t going to be a lot I could do before it was too dark outside to see. I started cutting out small trees that have popped up between our property and the vacant property next door. As I pushed to do just a few more and as it became dusky and a little hard to see, it happened.

I tripped and fell. Luckily I wasn’t hurt, but I did get a scare. The clippers I had in my hand scratched just under my eye and continued onto my glasses. I have a pretty bad scratch and one small gouge on my eyeglasses and just a small scratch just under my eye.

If I would not have been wearing glasses, the clippers would have hit my right eye and gouged it badly. I am so lucky all I got was that small scratch because it could have turned out so differently. One small thing can change your life forever.

So, this is a reminder to be careful when gardening. Watch out where you walk so you don’t trip. Remember all those safety rules when using equipment. And, most importantly, don’t work outside when it starts to get dark, and you can’t see.

6 Comments

  1. Bernieh said,

    January 9, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Oooh, that was a close call! Glad you hear you came out of it OK! I know I’ve had a few little accidents while gardening, mostly falls, and luckily I’ve always missed being seriously harmed!

  2. January 9, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Jan, I’m so glad this turned out the way it did. I know EXACTLY how you feel, because I had a similar experience a few years ago, with a tree branch. It knocked my glasses off, hitting my glasses dead center on one of the lenses, and I got a nice black eye out of the deal. Had I not had my glasses on…well…I’d hate to think what may have happened. And yeah, it was too dark to be doing what I was doing – planting tulip bulbs.

  3. January 10, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Jan that is really scary. I know I have fallen a couple times (walking on our riprap and a rock moved) and was shaken up a bit. I can’t imagine having sharp tools in my hands and having them hit my face. Good thing you had those glasses.

  4. January 10, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Dear Jan, This is a very important message for all gardeners! I’m glad you weren’t seriously hurt. P. x

  5. Jan said,

    January 10, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    I was very lucky, It scares me to think of what could have happened. I have learned my lesson about being careful.

  6. Patty said,

    January 10, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    So glad you weren’t hurt. Take care.


Leave a Reply

