Something New

“Something New”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

It is always good to try something new. If it is a success, it is wonderful, and if it is a failure, you know not to do that again.

Something new I tried in the garden this past fall was some ornamental cabbages that I put in the circle garden. In the past I have planted pansies, violas, snapdragons, and bluebonnets in this garden area. My favorites had been the violas and pansies, but the last few years they just didn’t do as well as when I first used them here. They didn’t last and seemed to melt before they grew or bloomed. Since this was so discouraging, I had almost decided to not put anything in the circle garden when I came upon some ornamental cabbages at a small, independent nursery.

They were tiny little plants in six packs, and it was hot and dry weather not good for fall annuals, but I planted them any way. At first, I was just happy they didn’t die, but then I was concerned they stayed green. The tiny plants, about the size of a silver dollar, grew and grew, however, they remained green. The weather grew colder, and there even were a few light freezes, but still little color. I kept looking at the plant tag, wondering if mine would remain green.

Finally, a tinge of pink appeared which soon expanded. I guess I was just too impatient. Now, they are the size of dinner plates with lovely pink centers.

 

 

When I planted these cabbages, I really didn’t have high expectations for them. Now, they have definitely surprised me. I am so glad I gave something new a chance.

3 Comments

  1. January 10, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    I planted some cabbages in Virginia and really liked how well they did. Not sure why I didn’t do them again.
    Yours with the pink center are sure pretty.

  2. Chris said,

    January 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    If you like the flowering cabbage, you ought to try the flowering kale. It looks like the cabbage but has frilly leaves.

  3. Phillip said,

    January 11, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Mine are doing great this year. I’ve had mixed results in the past. Some years they are terrific and some not so much.


Leave a Reply

