Spring Is Here?

“Spring Is Here?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

For the last three years, I have posted about a sure sign of spring arriving here at my home near the Gulf Coast. That sign has been my neighbor’s redbud tree. Whenever it bursts into bloom, cold weather is over. We may still get some chilly weather, but no more freezes or near freezes. Last weekend while working in my back garden, I thought I saw a little purple-pink over in her yard, but I thought, no, it’s too early. A quick walk over confirmed the first show of color.

 

 

All this past week, we have been having mild weather and plants are waking up. I noticed last week in New Orleans where it is a tad warmer than we are, the Japanese Magnolias are in full bloom. Well, yesterday, the redbud was in full bloom. Just gorgeous.

 

 

Since it was a little overcast this weekend, it was nice to have these pretty flowers to brighten the landscape.

 

 

The mild weather was a blessing this weekend. After working all week inside, I just can’t wait to get outside in the garden. Several chores got done – planting some daylilies, cutting back the bamboo, etc. Checking out the garden showed that a few gladiolas are already sprouting, and other signs of life were all around. After weeks of cold weather, it looks like we will be welcoming an early spring.

1 Comment

  1. Fran said,

    January 22, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    I am jealous. It is so pretty after a bleak winter


Leave a Reply

