A Favorite

 “A Favorite”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

 

 Sometimes we toss around the word favorite, a little too often, so that it loses all meaning.  How many times have we said, “Oh, that’s my favorite flower,” only to repeat that same sentence in almost the next breath.  I know, I have been guilty of this.  It seems whenever something new blooms, out pops that sentence.

 

Well, now I would like to show one of my top five favorite flowers and my favorite hibiscus flower.  It is Double Classic Pink.  This big, gorgeous flower is the first one to open this season, and it just takes my breath away.  The pink color is just perfect.

 

 

 

These tropical plants like moist well-drained, acid soil, full sun, and are heavy feeders.  I fertilize mine with a tomato fertilizer in the early spring and then start using a liquid fertilizer just about every two weeks.  In early summer, I will use the tomato fertilizer again.  In our hot climate, I water the containers almost everyday that there is no rain, and so nutrients leach out of the soil very quickly.  Since I water almost daily, these plants require frequent fertilizing. 

 

Hibiscus shrubs grow to about 6-8 feet tall and can be covered in blooms at the ends of the branches.  Because they bloom on the branch tips, excessive pruning cuts off the flowers.  So keep that in mind if you decide to prune when they are blooming.  I usually prune mine in the winter or very early spring before they start flowering.

 

These plants do very well in containers.  I usually repot mine in the spring, trimming back the roots, if necessary, replacing soil, and then putting them back in the same 14 inch container.

 

This big, five inch flower will only last today, but knowing that there will be more from this prolific bloomer makes me look forward to tomorrow.

5 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 21, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Such a large, striking bloom — gorgeous color!

  2. Patricia Louque said,

    May 22, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Beautiful flower. I have one hibiscus in a pot. it is a braided tree that I got at Costco several years ago. It is not nearly as pretty as yours, but here in Virginia, they are not very accessible. I would love to have a double, but yours are the best I have seen. It is not only double, but it is so ruffly. I love your blog and I must admit, I have gotten bitten by the bug and have bought some of you selections. Thanks again. Patty

  3. Jan said,

    May 22, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Yes, Nancy, now you can see why this is my favorite hibiscus. Down here they make a snowball (sno-cone in other areas) in a flavor called “nectar” that is the same color as this flower. It is delicious, and I often think of it when I see this blooming.

    Patty, I guess there are some advantages to living in a hot area – the tropicals thrive here. As for the hibiscus, I only grow doubles and I am not too enamored of the newer hybrids. The colors just do not appeal to me. Thanks for the kind words about my blog. I hope the plants you have bought that I have written about do well for you. Sorry if it is causing you to spend more money. LOL

  4. May 22, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Can you grow hibiscus in the ground too? I gave up on them in the 80s when we had two hard winters in a row – (back then I had a young family and no time – or money – to replant beds each spring) I’m back to growing them and your post made me click in as to why my potted hibiscus struggled. It wanted more fertilizer! Thanks for the beautiful pics and post.

  5. Jan said,

    May 22, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks, Mary Beth. Yes, they can be grown in the ground, but are only reliably hardy to zone 10 maybe zone 9 with protection. Most people just treat them as annuals when they grow them in the ground in other areas, but if there is a hard to find color or variety that you want to keep, dig it up in the fall and replant in the spring if you do not want to keep it in a container. I, too, had poor results with hibiscus until I started fertilizing and watering a lot. As I wrote they are very heavy feeders.


Leave a Reply

