Apple Blossom Time

“Apple Blossom Time”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I remember my parents playing an old song from WWII called I’ll Be With You in Apple Blossom Time.  Of course, the lyrics were referring to apple trees blooming in May, but our apple blossom time has nothing to do with apples or May.  The only apple blossoms around here are the Apple Blossom amaryllis that are blooming now.

apple-blossom-group-redu

Apple Blossom has been one of my mother’s favorites for years, but I was never, somehow, that impressed with it.  I tend to like the ones that are vividly colored.  However, when I started putting in more perennials and was looking in particular for something pink to go with the azaleas and lorepetulum that would be blooming together, I decided to try some Apple Blossom bulbs.  I started out buying two from Wal-Mart one year and then gradually added a few bulbs each year.  I have a nice little grouping now.

apple-blossom-stalk-redu

We are lucky to be able to plant these bulbs outside in the ground.  I usually wait until April to plant outside the ones I purchased in the fall for winter blooms.  The next year, these planted amaryllis start to bloom in early spring.

appleblossom-bloom-redu

Now, when I look at these beautiful flowers, I can not believe that at one time I was not impressed by them.  Now, if I can only stop humming I’ll Be Seeing You in Apple Blossom Time whenever I pass them.

11 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    March 26, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Those are just lovely!!

    • Jan said,

      March 27, 2009 at 7:05 pm

      Thanks, Janet. Right now, these are my favorites.

      Chandramouli, I have never seen an apple blossom, so I couldn’t say. I did notice that these flowers had a sweet fragrance last evening. How nice that your amaryllis is blooming, too.

      Tyra, I do have to agree that these flowers look good in the garden. I think it is because there are so many of them over a bigger area than would be possible in a container. But, in the dead of winter, even one bloom looks good which is why I think they are so popular for winter forcing.

      Brenda, I think you have described them perfectly. I forgot to add that these flowers are fragrant, another plus.

      April, I had been looking forward to Apple Blossom’s flowers opening up, and am glad they look so good. I am sure you are anticipating yours in the same way.

      Thanks, Mr. Lincoln, for the kind comments about my blog. I usually buy the bulbs in the fall, wait until after Christmas to plant them in pots, enjoy the blooms in late January, and then plant the bulbs in the garden in April. The next year, I am enjoying the blooms in early spring. Not too bad for an under $7 investment.

  2. March 26, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    It does look like an APPLE blossom. What an apt name! I join hands with you ‘coz my Amaryllis is blooming too! Hurray!

  3. March 27, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Dear Jan.

    It’s amazing, I proudly had one for christmas and you have all these absolutely gorgeous blooms now in your garden! I’m not at all jealous…
    I must say they are looking much, much more beautiful ‘wild’ in your garden then in a pot.

    LOLove Tyra

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    March 27, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Well, I’m impressed! They are beautiful, Jan. So feminine and sweet.
    Brenda

  5. April said,

    March 27, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    What a beauty! My will be blooming soon

  6. March 27, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Wow. Those are impressive. I also know the song. I will have to see WalMart and get some of these. You are a talented gardener and have a beautiful blog.

  7. Sweet Bay said,

    March 29, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    I think the Apple Blossom are my favorite too — they’re one of those flowers that always makes you take a second look. They’re beautiful.

  8. PrerEnelior said,

    January 1, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Which WordPress template are you using?

    • Jan said,

      January 2, 2010 at 6:55 am

      I don’t think this theme is available anymore because I haven’t seen it on the theme pages in a very long time.

  9. Carol said,

    March 20, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    im doing a project on apple blossoms and i need to know how many days it takes until you have a desired bloom of these. i came across this and wanted to ask how many days did it take for them to bloom for you? thanks


Leave a Reply

