Double Beauties

“Double Beauties”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

With all the unusually hot weather for June and lack of rain we have been having lately, it seems that most of the flowers in the garden are taking a break.  There is not the usual exuberant flowering that is normally around.  Thank goodness for the hibiscus ( Hibiscus rosa-sinensis) plants.  They are going nonstop.  I have had these bushes for years, and while it is a pain to have to protect them in winter time, they certainly are worth that effort come summer.  All of my tropical hibiscus are doubles.

 

Red Hibiscus (redu)

 

This red double hibiscus is one of my oldest.

 

Peach Hibiscus (redu)

 

This peach-colored hibiscus is also an oldie but a goodie.

 

Dk Orange Hibiscus (redu)

 

This dark orange-colored hibiscus makes a nice transition color to put in between the above red and peach hibiscuses.

 

Dk Pink Hibiscus (redu)

 

Then, there is my absolute favorite hibiscus, this dark pink one.  I  absolutely love this color.  I just took some cuttings of this one to try and make a few more plants with this gorgeous deep pink.  I was thinking, if I was successful in getting the cuttings to take, this hibiscus would look so good interspersed in the garden borders when the other flowers take a break during the hottest part of summer.

8 Comments

  1. Jake said,

    July 2, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I love Hibiscus too. Thst lsdt one is a great looking plant. I didn’t protect this year and mine are growing from the ground up. The two I have are abut two feet tall, the double is alredy blooming though.

    The double is odd in that it blooms both peac and red blooms at the same time.

    Jake

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2009 at 10:51 am

      Jake, I grow mine in containers because we occasionally will have pretty hard freezes which would kill them if they were planted in the ground. Is it possible that your double which blooms in two colors are two plants? The reason I ask is that when I bought my peach ones years ago, it was four plants in the container, and one was red.

  2. Janet said,

    July 2, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Love the doubles, they really give a lot of color.

    • Jan said,

      July 3, 2009 at 10:52 am

      Doubles are my favorite and the only kind I have.

  3. burstmode said,

    July 5, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    I am glad to find a group that love this flower. I find each and everyone beautiful and have been around these flowers my whole life. This is the best time of the year for them, though…

    • Jan said,

      July 7, 2009 at 5:55 am

      One of the nice things about living in a warm climate is that these will bloom for me just about year round. I have had great flowering in December. I just wish I could plant them in the ground, but I am afraid one year they wouldn’t come back.

  4. July 5, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    I like hibiscus, too. I have two that I take indoors during the Winter here. Yours are just beautiful! 🙂

    • Jan said,

      July 7, 2009 at 5:57 am

      Thanks. It is a this time of the year when the flowers are so big and colorful that I feel it is worth the trouble to bring them all inside when a freeze is predicted.


Leave a Reply

