White Fog

“White Fog”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Last Sunday morning, I was so surprised when I opened the front door to go out to pick up the newspaper.  Fog had rolled in overnight.  It is so unusual to get fog at this time of the year.  The garden looked so peaceful and serene in such an atmosphere.  I was immediately reminded of the poem “White Fog”.

 

 

 

 

 

White Fog

Sara Teasdale

Heaven-invading hills are drowned
In wide moving waves of mist,
Phlox before my door are wound
In dripping wreaths of amethyst.

Ten feet away the solid earth
Changes into melting cloud,
There is a hush of pain and mirth,
No bird has heart to speak aloud.

Here in a world without a sky,
Without the ground, without the sea,
The one unchanging thing is I,
Myself remains to comfort me.

4 Comments

  1. Janet said,

    November 19, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I love the foggy mornings.

  2. vrtlaricaana said,

    November 20, 2009 at 2:45 am

    For me, white fog is very usual this time of year – we have one right now and by the looks of it – it will last whole day.

  3. Liisa said,

    November 20, 2009 at 5:08 am

    A lovely poem, Jan. A bit ironic, as I was just reading a few poems by Sara Teasdale in another tab. I love that line: Phlox before my door are wound
    In dripping wreaths of amethyst.

  4. November 20, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Beautiful … lovely to see the trunks of trees and shrubbery blooming through the mist. Carol


Leave a Reply

